Commander ESPRIT!

FMI-Hansa Medical Products

ESPRIT nous a aidé à utiliser nos machines pour fabriquer les pièces telles qu'elles doivent être.

— David Green, programmeur et ingénieur de production

FMI-Hansa Medical Products utilise au mieux ses machines avec ESPRIT

Fondée en 1999, FMI-Hansa Medical Products a programmé ses pièces jusqu'à ce qu'elle réalise qu'elle était incapable de tirer le meilleur parti des machines de plus en plus complexes qu'elle acquérait. En 2009, l'entreprise a acheté ESPRIT pour programmer ses machines de tournage-fraisage Mazak et ses tours Citizen Swiss.

“Pendant longtemps, nous nous sommes contentés d'entrer les programmes, mais les pièces sont devenues à ce point complexes, à mesure que l'entreprise se développait, que nous avons ressenti le besoin d'une aide pour programmer les machines multi-tâches, et nous avons trouvé ESPRIT,” dit David Green, programmeur et ingénieur de production.

“Maintenant, nous avons le logiciel qui permet de générer des trajectoires d'outil complexes et qui peut utiliser une géométrie ou des surfaces existantes pour générer un code correct, de telle façon que nous n'ayons plus aucun calcul manuel à faire.”

L'entreprise s'honore de livrer plus de 50 clients, à l'occasion ou en tant que clients réguliers, pour des lots de 25 à 1000 pièces. Pour que tout fonctionne à merveille sur cette machine bien huilée, il est capital que les pièces soient bonnes du premier coup en utilisant au mieux la technologie qui la fait marcher.

“Nous sommes en train d'atteindre la livraison en juste à temps pour chaque client et une qualité supérieure des pièces,” explique Green. “Dans notre entreprise, les réglages doivent être parfaits, les programmes doivent être parfaits et nous devons avoir un bon flux des produits.”

Comme les machines et le logiciel — et la combinaison des deux — sont capables d'usiner des pièces d'une complexité sans cesse croissante avec des tolérances serrées, les concepteurs ont à l'esprit cette capacité à toujours faire mieux.

“ESPRIT nous a aidé à utiliser nos machines pour fabriquer les pièces qu'elles sont conçues pour fabriquer,” ajoute Green , “et la simulation nous permet de voir ce qui se passe avant d'aller sur la machine.”

Green est satisfait que l'entreprise ait choisi ce logiciel car cela donne un avantage à FMI-Hansa sur un marché concurrentiel. “Le fait de savoir que notre programme est correct avant de passer sur la machine nous donne un avantage car nous réglons plus vite et nous diversifions nos produits,” explique-t-il.

Avec toutes ces pièces de plus en plus complexes qui nous tombent dessus, avoir de l'avance renforce notre polyvalence et nous permet de mieux bénéficier des outils à notre disposition.


“We now have software that generates complex toolpath and can use existing geometry or surfaces to output correct code so that nothing has to be manually calculated.”

The company serves a body of 50-plus customers who represent a range of one-time to repeat business and lot sizes of 25 to 1,000 pieces. To keep the gears of this well-oiled machine turning, it’s crucial to get jobs right the first time by maximizing the technology that drives it.

“We’re trying to achieve on-time delivery for each customer and a superior quality of parts,” Green says. “We have to have perfect setups, perfect programs and a good flow of products as a company.”

Because machines and software — and a powerful combination of the two — are capable of machining increasingly complex parts with tight tolerances, designers are designing parts with that increased capacity in mind.

“ESPRIT has helped us use our machines to make parts they’re designed to make,” Green says, “and the simulation allows us to see what it’s going to do before it goes to the machine.”

Green credits the company’s choice of software for giving FMI-Hansa an edge in a competitive market. “Knowing that our program is done and correct before it goes to the machine gives us an advantage in accomplishing faster set-up times and product versatility,” he says.

With those increasingly complex parts coming down the pipeline, being ahead of the game is all about versatility and taking full advantage of the tools at your disposal.

Présentation société

FMI-Hansa Medical Products Logo
  • Basé à Madison, Alabama, USA
  • Fondé en 1999
  • fmihansa.com
FMI-Hansa Medical Products est spécialisé dans la fabrication d'implants, d'instruments et d'appareils orthopédiques et répond à la demande de prototypes et de volumes de production. Sous le même toit sont réunies des capacités d'usinage complètes et la finition des métaux.

Information

Vidéos
Double fraisage en vis-à-vis 5 axes (pinch milling)
Contournage axe B
Technologie de l'outil tournant (Spinning Tool)

Articles
CAM for B-Axis Mill-Turn Machining
A Simplified Approach to 5-axis Milling
B-Axis Contouring for Multi-tasking Machines
Fresh Approach to Complex 5-axis Milling
Learn More on ESPRIT for Swiss-Style Machining
Nous utilisons des cookies pour vous offrir une meilleure expérience de navigation, analyser le trafic internet et personnaliser le contenu. Découvrez comment nous utilisons les cookies et comment vous pouvez les contrôler en cliquant sur ici.
Si vous continuez à utiliser ce site, vous consentez à notre utilisation des cookies.

Get ESPRIT Now!

FMI-Hansa Medical Products

ESPRIT has helped us use our machines to make parts they’re designed to make.

David Green, Programmer & Manufacturing Engineer

FMI-Hansa Medical Products Maximizes its Machinery with ESPRIT

Founded in 1999, FMI-Hansa Medical Products programmed parts at the machine control until it realized that it was unable to maximize the potential of the increasingly complex machines it acquired. In 2009, the company purchased ESPRIT to program its Mazak mill-turn and Citizen Swiss-turn machines.

“For a long time, we were just typing in programs, but as the complexity of the parts started to grow with the company, we needed something that could program multi-tasking machines, and that was ESPRIT,” says David Green, programmer and manufacturing engineer for FMI-Hansa.


“We now have software that generates complex toolpath and can use existing geometry or surfaces to output correct code so that nothing has to be manually calculated.”

The company serves a body of 50-plus customers who represent a range of one-time to repeat business and lot sizes of 25 to 1,000 pieces. To keep the gears of this well-oiled machine turning, it’s crucial to get jobs right the first time by maximizing the technology that drives it.

“We’re trying to achieve on-time delivery for each customer and a superior quality of parts,” Green says. “We have to have perfect setups, perfect programs and a good flow of products as a company.”

Because machines and software — and a powerful combination of the two — are capable of machining increasingly complex parts with tight tolerances, designers are designing parts with that increased capacity in mind.

“ESPRIT has helped us use our machines to make parts they’re designed to make,” Green says, “and the simulation allows us to see what it’s going to do before it goes to the machine.”

Green credits the company’s choice of software for giving FMI-Hansa an edge in a competitive market. “Knowing that our program is done and correct before it goes to the machine gives us an advantage in accomplishing faster set-up times and product versatility,” he says.

With those increasingly complex parts coming down the pipeline, being ahead of the game is all about versatility and taking full advantage of the tools at your disposal.

Company snapshot

FMI-Hansa Medical Products Logo
  • Based in Madison, Alabama, USA
  • Founded in 1999
  • fmihansa.com
Dedicated to manufacturing orthopedic implants, instruments and devices, FMI-Hansa Medical Products meets prototype and production-volume demands, and offers comprehensive machining and metal-finishing capabilities under one roof.

Related Information

Videos
5-Axis Pinch Milling
B-Axis Contouring
Spinning Tool Technology

Articles
CAM for B-Axis Mill-Turn Machining
A Simplified Approach to 5-axis Milling
B-Axis Contouring for Multi-tasking Machines
Fresh Approach to Complex 5-axis Milling
Learn More on ESPRIT for Swiss-Style Machining